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State/ 
Contact Info 

When to 
Start 

Withholding 
 

When to 
Send 

Payment 
(“within” the 

# of days 
stated, after 

payday) 

Mandatory 
Deductions 

Exception to Federal 
CCPA Limits 

 

Allocation 
of Orders/ 

Priority 
Scheme 

 

When to Send 
Termination 

Notice  
(of employees 
with orders 

only) 

How Long to 
Retain Order 

After 
Employee’s 
Termination 

Maximum 
Admin Fee 
(optional) 

Alabama 
(334) 864-2309 
Janice Grubbs 
jgrubbs@dhr.state.al.us 

Immediately 
upon receipt 

7 business 
days  

Federal, state, 
city taxes, FICA 

None Prorate  Promptly No law or 
policy 

$2 per month 

Alaska  
(907) 269-6900 

1st payday 
after receipt 

7 business 
days  

Federal, state, 
city taxes, FICA, 
mandatory 
retirement plans 

40% of disposable 
income; may go up to 
65% when good cause 
is determined by 
agency as outlined in 
Alaska Admin. Code  

Prorate Promptly 3 years after 
termination 

$5 per payment 

Arizona 
Customer Service Employer Line 
(602) 274-3792 

1st pay period 
occurring 14 
days after date 
of notice 

2 business 
days  

Federal, state, 
local income 
taxes, FICA, 
Medicare taxes 

50% of disposable 
income 

Prorate  10 days after 
termination 

At least 90 
days  

$1 per payment 
or $4 per month, 
whichever is 
greater 

Arkansas 
(501) 682-8710 
Mary Smith 
mary.e.smith@ocse.state.ar.us 

1st pay period 
occurring 14 
days after date 
notice was 
mailed 

Payday    Federal, state,
local income 
taxes, FICA, 
Medicare, 
Railroad 
Retirement, 
medical 
insurance for 
dependent 
children 

None Prorate Immediately Keep on file
until notified 

  $2.50 per 
payment 
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State/ 
Contact Info 

When to 
Start 

Withholding 
 

When to 
Send 

Payment 
(“within” the 

# of days 
stated, after 

payday) 

Mandatory 
Deductions 

Exception to Federal 
CCPA Limits 

 

Allocation 
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Priority 
Scheme 

 

When to Send 
Termination 

Notice  
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with orders 

only) 

How Long to 
Retain Order 

After 
Employee’s 
Termination 

Maximum 
Admin Fee 
(optional) 

California 
(916) 464-5055 
Monisha Avery 
Monisha.avery@dcss.ca.gov 
 
 

10 days after 
receipt 

7 business 
days  

Federal, state and 
local taxes; 
FICA; Medicare; 
and disability 
insurance; union 
dues and 
payments to 
public 
employees’ 
retirement 
systems, 
provided that the 
deductions are 
required as a 
condition of 
employment 

Cannot exceed 50% of 
disposable earnings; 
or 25% (may be lower 
by written agreement) 
of state disability, 
temporary worker's 
compensation 
benefits, or 
unemployment benefit 
payments. 

Prorate  Within 10 
days 

No law or 
policy 

$1 per payment 

Colorado 
(720) 927-5000 
child.support@state.co.us 

14 business 
days after 
order is mailed 
to employer 

7 business 
days  

Federal, state, 
city taxes, FICA 

None Prorate  10 days after 
termination 

Keep on file 
until notified 
by child 
support 
agency 

$5 per month 
(from remainder 
of employee’s 
income after 
deductions and 
withholding) 

Connecticut 
www.ctchildsupport.com 
 

1st pay period 
after 14 days 
from service 

7 business 
days  

Federal , state 
city taxes,  FICA, 
normal 
retirement 
contributions 

85% of 1st $145 per 
week of disposable 
income is exempt 
from withholding; 
only $123.25 if 
income is equal or 
greater than $145 (if 
income < $145, 85% 
is calculated from 
disposable income) 

Prorate  Promptly No retention 
unless 
employee may 
return at a 
later date 

No provision 
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State/ 
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When to 
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When to 
Send 

Payment 
(“within” the 

# of days 
stated, after 

payday) 

Mandatory 
Deductions 

Exception to Federal 
CCPA Limits 
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Scheme 

 

When to Send 
Termination 

Notice  
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only) 

How Long to 
Retain Order 

After 
Employee’s 
Termination 

Maximum 
Admin Fee 
(optional) 

Delaware 
(302) 326-6024 
Janet Loper 
jloper@state.de.us 

7 days after 1st 
payday after 
receipt 

On or before 
payday 

Federal, state, 
city taxes, FICA, 
mandatory 
retirement, union 
dues, public 
assistance 
payments, tax 
refunds 

None Prorate  No timeframe 
specified 

No law or 
policy 

No provision 

District of Columbia 
(202) 879-1383 
Roderick Norris 
 
 

7 business 
days after 
payday 

Payday  Federal, state,
city taxes, FICA 

None Prorate 10 days after 
termination 

No law or 
policy 

$2 per payment 

Florida 
(800) 622-5437 
DORCSE@dor.state.fl.us 

1st pay period 
occurring 14 
business days 
after date 
notice was 
posted 

2 days  Federal, state, 
city taxes, FICA 

None Prorate  Promptly No law or 
policy 

$5 for 1st 
payment, $2 per 
payment 
thereafter 

Georgia 
(404) 657-3864 
Angelo Bonito 
ambonito@dhr.state.ga.us 

1st pay period 
occurring 14 
business days 
after date 
order is mailed 

2 business 
days  

None   None Prorate Promptly No law or
policy 

 $25 for set-up 
fee for 1st 
payment, $3 for 
all others 

Guam 
(671) 475-3360 
Diane Blas 
Diane.blas@guamcse.net 

    Federal, state,
city taxes, FICA 

 60% of disposable 
income if NCP has no 
other family; 50% 
with another family 

Pay equal 
amount 

Notify agency
if employee s 
terminated 

 No provision 



STATE INCOME WITHHOLDING INFORMATION 

Office of Child Support Enforcement  Page 4 of 15 
Employer Services Team 
August 2004 

State/ 
Contact Info 

When to 
Start 
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Payment 
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payday) 
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Scheme 

 

When to Send 
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Retain Order 
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Employee’s 
Termination 

Maximum 
Admin Fee 
(optional) 

Hawaii 
(808) 692-7000 
 
 
 
 
 

1st pay period 
within 7 days 
from mailing 

5 business 
days  

Federal, state, 
city taxes, FICA 

None Prorate  Immediately Keep order 
until notified 
by IV-D 

$2 per payment 

Idaho 
Kristy White 
(208) 334-4975 
(208) 334-5814 
whitek@idhw.state.id.us 
 

1st pay period 
after receipt 

7 business 
days  

Federal and state 
income taxes, 
FICA. 

50% of disposable 
income 

Prorate  Promptly Keep until 
notified 

$5 per payment 
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State/ 
Contact Info 

When to 
Start 

Withholding 
 

When to 
Send 

Payment 
(“within” the 

# of days 
stated, after 

payday) 

Mandatory 
Deductions 

Exception to Federal 
CCPA Limits 

 

Allocation 
of Orders/ 

Priority 
Scheme 

 

When to Send 
Termination 
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with orders 

only) 

How Long to 
Retain Order 

After 
Employee’s 
Termination 

Maximum 
Admin Fee 
(optional) 

Illinois 
(217) 782-1380 
Robert Hopp 
AIDLSU@mail.idpa.state.il.us 
 

1st payday 
after receipt 

7 business 
days; 
if remitting 
for 10 or 
more 
employees 
OR 
if have 250 
employees or 
more (do not 
all have to be 
in IL) and 
remitting for 
1 or more,  
must send 
payments 
ELECTRONI
CALLY 

Federal, state, 
and local taxes 
and other 
retirement and 
disability 
contributions 
required to be 
withheld by law, 
FICA, union 
dues, any 
amounts 
exempted by the 
federal Consumer 
Credit Protection 
Act, public 
assistance 
payments, and 
unemployment 
insurance 
benefits except as 
provided by law.  
(per 750 ILCS 
28/15(d)). 

None Prorate  7 days after 
termination 

No law or 
policy 

$5 per month 

Indiana 
Mike Aronson, Bill Steffen 
(800) 292-0403 

14 business 
days after 
order is 
received 

Payday; 
if remitting 
for 50 or 
more 
employees, 
must send 
payments 
ELECTRONI
CALLY 

Federal, state, 
city taxes, FICA  

None Prorate 10 days after 
termination 

No law or 
policy 

$2 per payment 
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State/ 
Contact Info 

When to 
Start 

Withholding 
 

When to 
Send 

Payment 
(“within” the 

# of days 
stated, after 

payday) 

Mandatory 
Deductions 

Exception to Federal 
CCPA Limits 

 

Allocation 
of Orders/ 

Priority 
Scheme 

 

When to Send 
Termination 

Notice  
(of employees 
with orders 

only) 

How Long to 
Retain Order 

After 
Employee’s 
Termination 

Maximum 
Admin Fee 
(optional) 

Iowa 
(515) 281-8349 
Shelley Chambers 

10 days after 
receipt 

7 business 
days  

Federal, state, 
city taxes, FICA 

50% of disposable 
income 

Prorate  Promptly No law or 
policy 

$2 per payment 

Kansas 
(785) 296-3237 
 

1st pay period 
after 14 days 
from receipt 

7 business 
days  

Federal, state, 
city taxes, FICA 
and other 
retirement and 
disability 
contributions 

None   Divide
equally 

 Promptly No law or
policy 

Lesser of $5 per 
pay period or 
$10 per month 

Kentucky 
(502) 564-2285, ext. 4428 
Barbara Wright 
Barbara.wright@mail.state.ky.us 
 

1st pay period 
after 14 
business days 
after date of 
notice 

7 business 
days  

Federal, state, 
city taxes, FICA 

None Prorate  Promptly No law or 
policy 

$1 per payment 

Louisiana 
(225) 342-2148 
Gloria Garner 
ggarner1@dss.state.la.us 

1st pay period 
after receipt 

7 business 
days  

Federal, state, 
city taxes, FICA, 
retirement, 
medical, life 
insurance 

50% of disposable 
income 

Prorate  10 days after 
termination 

No law or 
policy 

$5 per pay 
period 

Maine 
(207) 287-2886 
Ellen Drake 
ellen.drake@state.me.us 

1st payday 
after receipt 

7 business 
days  

Federal, state, 
city taxes, FICA, 
state employee’s 
retirement, 
required union 
dues 

None Prorate  15 days after 
termination 

Order stands 
until released 
by the child 
support 
agency 

$2 per payment 

Maryland 
(800) 638-3912 
Pam Wilson 
epinkney@csea.dhr.state.md.us 

1st pay period 
after receipt 

7 business 
days  

Federal, state, 
city taxes, FICA 

None Prorate  10 days after 
termination 

Not required $2 per payment 
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State/ 
Contact Info 

When to 
Start 

Withholding 
 

When to 
Send 

Payment 
(“within” the 

# of days 
stated, after 

payday) 

Mandatory 
Deductions 

Exception to Federal 
CCPA Limits 

 

Allocation 
of Orders/ 

Priority 
Scheme 

 

When to Send 
Termination 

Notice  
(of employees 
with orders 

only) 

How Long to 
Retain Order 

After 
Employee’s 
Termination 

Maximum 
Admin Fee 
(optional) 

Massachusetts 
(800) 332-2733 
email via www.mass.gov/dor 

1st payday 
more than 3 
days after 
notice 

3 days; if 
remitting for 
5 or more 
employees, 
must send 
payments 
ELECTRONI
CALLY 

Federal, state, 
city taxes, FICA 
and mandatory 
public employee 
deductions 

50% of disposable 
income 

Prorate  Before next
payday 
following 
termination 

No law or 
policy 

$1 per payment 

Michigan 
Cheryl Webster 
(517) 241-5083 
websterc2@michigan.gov 

7 days after 
service 

3 days  Federal, state, 
city taxes, FICA 

None  Prorate Promptly No law or
policy 

  No provision 

Minnesota 
Policy Help Desk 
(800) 657-3890 
 
 

1st pay period 
occurring 14 
days after 
receipt 

7 business 
days  

Federal, state, 
city taxes, FICA 

None Prorate 10 days after 
termination 

No law or 
policy 

$1 per payment 

Mississippi 
gclayton@mdhs.state.ms.us 
Genell Clayton 

1st pay period 
within 14 days 
after service 

7 business 
days  

Federal, state, 
city taxes, FICA, 
other retirement 
and disability 
contributions 

None Prorate Promptly Do not retain;
return copy of 
order to 
agency after 
termination 

  $5 for 1st 
payment, $2 per 
payment 
thereafter 

Missouri 
(800) 585-9234 

2 weeks after  
the mailing or 
electronic 
issuance of 
notice 

7 business 
days  

Federal, state, 
city taxes, FICA 

None Prorate 10 days after 
termination 

No law or 
policy; keep 
order until 
notified by 
enforcing 
authority 

$6 per month 
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State/ 
Contact Info 

When to 
Start 

Withholding 
 

When to 
Send 

Payment 
(“within” the 

# of days 
stated, after 

payday) 

Mandatory 
Deductions 

Exception to Federal 
CCPA Limits 

 

Allocation 
of Orders/ 

Priority 
Scheme 

 

When to Send 
Termination 

Notice  
(of employees 
with orders 

only) 

How Long to 
Retain Order 

After 
Employee’s 
Termination 

Maximum 
Admin Fee 
(optional) 

Montana 
(406) 444-6893 
Julie Bailey 
jbailey@state.mt.us 

1st pay period 
after receipt 

7 business 
days  

Federal, state, 
city taxes, FICA, 
employment 
taxes, mandatory 
retirement and 
mandatory union 
dues 

50% of disposable 
income; if income is 
not wages, earnings or 
remuneration for 
personal services, up 
to 100% of net income 

Prorate  Promptly Keep order 
until notified 
by IV-D that 
order is 
terminated or 
modified 

$5 per month 

Nebraska 
(402) 479-5555 
Dan Redler 

1st pay period 
occurring 14 
days from date 
of notice 

7 business 
days  

Federal, state city 
taxes, FICA, 
mandatory 
retirement 

None Prorate  30 days after 
termination 

No law or 
policy 

$2.50 per month 

Nevada 
Customer Service Unit 
(775) 684-0704 

1st pay period 
occurring 14 
days after date 
notice is 
mailed 

7 business 
days  

Federal, state, 
city taxes, FICA, 
union dues, 
health care for 
dependents 

None Prorate  Timely No law or 
policy 

$3 per payment. 
Employer also 
required to 
collect $2 per 
payment (max. 
$4 per month) to 
be sent to State 
Treasurer no less 
than quarterly 
per NRS 
31A.080(3); $2 
fee to be 
deducted from 
the income due 
obligor after 
withholding of 
child support. 

New Hampshire 
(603) 271-4750 
Sarah Kourian 
skourian@dhhs.state.nh.us 

14 working 
days after 
order is mailed 
to employer 

Payday  Federal, state,
city taxes, FICA 

None Prorate  15 days after 
termination 

No law or 
policy 

$1 per payment 
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State/ 
Contact Info 

When to 
Start 

Withholding 
 

When to 
Send 

Payment 
(“within” the 

# of days 
stated, after 

payday) 

Mandatory 
Deductions 

Exception to Federal 
CCPA Limits 

 

Allocation 
of Orders/ 

Priority 
Scheme 

 

When to Send 
Termination 

Notice  
(of employees 
with orders 

only) 

How Long to 
Retain Order 

After 
Employee’s 
Termination 

Maximum 
Admin Fee 
(optional) 

New Jersey 1st pay period 
ending after 
postmark date 

Payday  Federal, state,
city taxes, FICA 

None Prorate Promptly No law; if 
employee 
leaves, notify 
IV-D 

$1 per payment 

New Mexico 
(505) 827-7242 
Tom Spahr 

Next payday 
after service 

7 business 
days  

Federal, state, 
city taxes, FICA; 
union dues 

None Prorate No specific
provision; 
governed by 
federal 
requirements 
to send 
termination 
notice 
“promptly” 

 No law or 
policy 

$1 per payment 

New York 
(518) 473-0574 

1st pay period 
after 14 days 
from service 

7 business 
days  

Federal, state, 
city taxes, FICA 
and local taxes 
(NYC)  

If current support only 
is due, follow federal 
CCPA limits.  
If current support plus 
arrears are due, 
withholding is limited 
to 40% of disposable 
income. 

Prorate  Promptly Return order 
to issuer if 
employee 
terminates 

No provision 

North Carolina 
(919) 255-3892 
Sandra Chestnut 

1st pay period 
occuring 14 
days after 
receipt 

7 business 
days  

Federal, state, 
city taxes, FICA, 
and involuntary 
retirement 
contributions 

40% of disposable 
income if one order 
only; 45% if multiple 
orders and NCP 
directly supports other 
dependents; 50% if 
multiple orders and no 
other dependents. 

Prorate  Promptly No law or 
policy 

$2 per payment 
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State/ 
Contact Info 

When to 
Start 

Withholding 
 

When to 
Send 

Payment 
(“within” the 

# of days 
stated, after 

payday) 

Mandatory 
Deductions 

Exception to Federal 
CCPA Limits 

 

Allocation 
of Orders/ 

Priority 
Scheme 

 

When to Send 
Termination 

Notice  
(of employees 
with orders 

only) 

How Long to 
Retain Order 

After 
Employee’s 
Termination 

Maximum 
Admin Fee 
(optional) 

North Dakota 
(701) 328-3582 
Suzanne “Sam” Witkowski 
sowits@state.nd.us 

Next payday 
after receipt of 
notice 

7 business 
days  

Federal, state, 
city taxes, FICA  

None Prorate  Within 7
business days 
of termination 

  Until notified 
by child 
support 
agency that 
order has 
terminated 

$3 per month 

Ohio 
(614) 752-6561 
Jacques Saliba 

14 business 
days after date 
notice was 
mailed OR 1st 
pay period 
occurring 14 
business days 
after date 
notice was 
mailed 

7 business 
days  

Federal, state, 
city taxes, FICA 

None Prorate 10 business
days after 
termination 

 Order to be 
kept on file 
until notified 
by IV-D to 
terminate or to 
reduce 
withholding 

$2 or up to 1% 
of payment, 
whichever is 
greater 

Oklahoma 
(405) 522-2550 

Next payday 
after receipt 

7 business 
days  

Federal, state, 
city taxes, FICA 

Not exceeding 50% of 
disposable income in 
practice 

Prorate  10 days after 
termination 

Orders to be 
kept on file 
indefinitely 

$5 per payment; 
up to $10 per 
month 

Oregon 
Employer Assistance Desk 
(503) 378-2868 
www.dcs.state.or.us/employers.htm 

1st payday 
within 5 
business days 
after date of 
notice 

7 business 
days  

Federal, state, 
city taxes, FICA, 
worker’s 
compensation, 
statutory pension 
contributions 

50% of disposable 
income unless noted 
otherwise;  arrears 
only cases must retain 
disposable income of 
160 hours x federal 
minimum wage 
(FMW) before 
withholding occurs.) 

Prorate  Next payday Until further 
notice from 
court or entity 
issuing notice 

$5 per  order per 
month 
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State/ 
Contact Info 

When to 
Start 

Withholding 
 

When to 
Send 

Payment 
(“within” the 

# of days 
stated, after 

payday) 

Mandatory 
Deductions 

Exception to Federal 
CCPA Limits 

 

Allocation 
of Orders/ 

Priority 
Scheme 

 

When to Send 
Termination 

Notice  
(of employees 
with orders 

only) 

How Long to 
Retain Order 

After 
Employee’s 
Termination 

Maximum 
Admin Fee 
(optional) 

Pennsylvania 
(717) 783-8557 
Harold Schreiber 
hschreiber@state.pa.us 

1st pay period 
after 7 days 
from service 

7 business 
days  

Federal, state, 
city taxes, FICA 

None Prorate No specific
provision; 
governed by 
federal 
requirements 
to send 
termination 
notice 
“promptly” 

 No law or 
policy 

2% of payment 

Puerto Rico 
(787) 767-1828 
Carmen Arraiza 
carraiza@asume.gobierno.pr 

7 business 
days after 1st 
payday 

7 business 
days  

Federal, state, 
city taxes, FICA 

None Divide
equally 

 30 days after 
termination 

Orders to be 
kept on file 
until 30 days 
after 
termination 

Will be stated on 
order (up to $1 
per payment) 

Rhode Island 
(401) 222-2302 
Charles Anthony 
canthony@cse.state.ri.us 

1 week from 
date received 

7 days  Federal, state, 
city taxes, FICA 
and Medicare 
taxes 

None Prorate 10 days after 
termination 

Order remains 
in effect until 
modified or 
terminated by 
court 

$2 per payment 

South Carolina 
(803) 898-9450 
(800) 768-5858 
mthigpen@dss.state.sc.us 

Next pay 
period after 
service 

7 business 
days  

Federal, state, 
city taxes, FICA, 
other retirement 
deductions, 
disability 
contributions 

None Prorate 20 days after 
termination 

If employee 
leaves, 
employer’s 
responsibility 
ends 

$3 per payment 

South Dakota 
(605) 773-3641 
Carmin Sommer 
carmin.sommer@state.sd.us 

1st payday 
after receipt 

7 business 
days  

Federal, state, 
city taxes, FICA, 
Medicare, health 
insurance 
premiums for 
dependents as 
ordered 

50% of disposable 
income; total amount 
of arrearage may be 
withheld from 
property, money and 
credits or other 
income not listed 

Prorate  5 days after 
termination 

No law or 
policy  

Effective  
7-1-2004: up to 
$3.00 per month 
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State/ 
Contact Info 

When to 
Start 

Withholding 
 

When to 
Send 

Payment 
(“within” the 

# of days 
stated, after 

payday) 

Mandatory 
Deductions 

Exception to Federal 
CCPA Limits 

 

Allocation 
of Orders/ 

Priority 
Scheme 

 

When to Send 
Termination 

Notice  
(of employees 
with orders 

only) 

How Long to 
Retain Order 

After 
Employee’s 
Termination 

Maximum 
Admin Fee 
(optional) 

Tennessee 
(615) 313-2282 or 
(615) 313-4880 
Betty Smith 
betty.smith@mail.state.tn.us 

14 days after 
date of the 
order 

7 business 
days  

Federal, state, 
city taxes, FICA 
and health 
insurance 
premiums for 
dependent 

50% of disposable 
income  

Prorate   Promptly No law or
policy 

Up to 5% of 
payment, not to 
exceed $5 per 
month 

Texas 
(512) 460-6222 
honi.canon@cs.oag.state.tx.us 

1st pay period 
after receipt 

Payday; for 
EFT/EDI 
payments, no 
later than 2nd 
business day 
after payday 

To arrive at 
“Texas Family 
Code disposable 
earnings,” 
calculate CCPA 
disposable 
earnings and then 
subtract union 
dues and 
medical, hospital 
and disability 
insurance for 
employee and 
dependents. 

Texas Family Code 
garnishment cap is 
50% of Texas Family 
Code disposable 
earnings, plus the 
garnishment amount 
for health insurance; if 
the CCPA 
garnishment limit is 
lower, the CCPA limit 
applies. 

Health 
insurance 
premiums, 
then equally 
among 
garnishment
s for current 
support; 
then equally 
among 
garnishment
s for past-
due support. 

7 days after 
termination 

No law or 
policy 

$10 per month  

Utah 
(801) 536-0352 
Elisa LaJeunesse 
elajeunesse@utah.gov 

1st pay period 
occurring 5 
business days 
after receipt 

7 business 
days  

Federal, state, 
city taxes, FICA, 
and Medicare 

None  Prorate 5 days after
termination 

 Keep 
withholding 
order in place 
until notified 

One-time fee of 
$25 (may be 
charged all at 
once, or over 
several pay 
periods) 

Vermont 
(800) 786-3214 
Employer Outreach 
empl@ocs.state.vt.us 

10 days after 
receipt or next 
payday 

7 business 
days  

Federal, state, 
city taxes, FICA  

None Prorate  10 days after 
termination 

No law or 
policy 

$5 per month 
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State/ 
Contact Info 

When to 
Start 

Withholding 
 

When to 
Send 

Payment 
(“within” the 

# of days 
stated, after 

payday) 

Mandatory 
Deductions 

Exception to Federal 
CCPA Limits 

 

Allocation 
of Orders/ 

Priority 
Scheme 

 

When to Send 
Termination 

Notice  
(of employees 
with orders 

only) 

How Long to 
Retain Order 

After 
Employee’s 
Termination 

Maximum 
Admin Fee 
(optional) 

Virginia 
(800) 257-9986 
Pat Watson 
Pat.Watson@dss.virginia.gov 

Next payday 
after service  

Payday if by 
mail; 4 days 
after payday 
if via EFT 

Federal, state, 
city taxes, FICA 

None   Prorate Promptly
 

No specific
retention 
period 

$5 per payment 

Virgin Islands 
(340) 775-3070 x 3000 
Regina DeChabert 
Ginad_13@hotmail.com 
 

       Federal, state,
city taxes, FICA  

 None Divide
equally 

Order to be
kept until date 
of termination 
or 
modification 

  Up to $1  

Washington 
(800) 591-2760 

1st payday 
after receipt 

7 days  Federal, state, 
city taxes, FICA 

50% of disposable 
income 

Prorate  Promptly Discard upon
termination 

 $10 for 1st 
payment; $1 for 
all others 

West Virginia 
(800) 835-4683 
Employer Relations Unit 

1st pay period 
occurring 14 
days from date 
of order is 
mailed to 
employer 

Payday    Federal, state,
city taxes, FICA 

None if paying current 
only; if paying current 
and arrears, collection 
of arrears cannot 
exceed 25 % of 
current support, unless 
arrears are over an 
amount equal to 6 
months of support, 
then withhold an 
additional $100/month 
and continue until 
employee has no 
arrearage in any case.  
If paying on multiple 
orders, there are 
maximum percentages 
of: 
(1) If the arrears are 
owed for twelve (12) 
weeks or more, the 

Prorate 
 

Promptly Retain order
until notified 
by child 
support 
agency 

$1 per payment 
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State/ 
Contact Info 

When to 
Start 

Withholding 
 

When to 
Send 

Payment 
(“within” the 

# of days 
stated, after 

payday) 

Mandatory 
Deductions 

Exception to Federal 
CCPA Limits 

 

Allocation 
of Orders/ 

Priority 
Scheme 

 

When to Send 
Termination 

Notice  
(of employees 
with orders 

only) 

How Long to 
Retain Order 

After 
Employee’s 
Termination 

Maximum 
Admin Fee 
(optional) 

limits are:  
(A) 45% of the 
obligor's disposable 
earnings if the obligor 
is supporting another 
spouse or other 
dependents; OR 
(B) 55% of the 
obligor's disposable 
earnings if the obligor 
does not have another 
spouse or other 
dependents. 
(2) If no arrears exist 
or the arrearage owed 
is for less than twelve 
(12) weeks, the limits 
are: 
(A) 40% of the 
obligor's disposable 
earnings if the obligor 
is supporting another 
spouse or other 
dependents; OR 
(B) 50% of the 
obligor's disposable 
earnings if the obligor 
has no other spouse or 
dependents. 
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State/ 
Contact Info 

When to 
Start 

Withholding 
 

When to 
Send 

Payment 
(“within” the 

# of days 
stated, after 

payday) 

Mandatory 
Deductions 

Exception to Federal 
CCPA Limits 

 

Allocation 
of Orders/ 

Priority 
Scheme 

 

When to Send 
Termination 

Notice  
(of employees 
with orders 

only) 

How Long to 
Retain Order 

After 
Employee’s 
Termination 

Maximum 
Admin Fee 
(optional) 

Wisconsin 
(608) 267-0925 
Theola Carter 
Theola.carter@dwd.state.wi.us 

1st pay period 
after receipt 

5 days  Federal, state, 
city taxes, FICA 

None Prorate 10 days after 
termination 

Retain until 
notified by 
child support 
agency 

Actual costs up 
to $3 per 
payment 

Wyoming 
(307) 777-5653 
Jay Mullendore 
Jmulle1@state.wy.us 

1st pay period 
after service 

7 business 
days  

Federal, state, 
city taxes, FICA, 
dependent health 
care coverage, 
mandatory 
pension 
deductions, other 
child support 

None Prorate 30 days after 
termination 

No law or 
policy 

$5 per payment 

NOTE:   
Day limits are maximum number of days; i.e., “7 days after payday” means within 7 days and “10 days after termination” means within 10 days. 
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